Positive growth in 2013

This last year was the first year I set goals for myself in the new year. I have never been one to really pay attention to new year’s resolutions, but I decided that 2012 was going to be the year I started taking better care of myself, making positive changes – the overarching theme of my goals. While I did not achieve everything I set out to complete, my efforts had a positive effect. This year I felt compelled to use a different strategy.

Instead of choosing specific tasks to complete, I want to focus on being positive and trying new things. Here are my goals for 2013:

  • Write down all of the good things that happen in 2013 and collect them in a jar. On December 31st, dump the jar out and reflect on all of the positive and notable moments that happened throughout the year (inspiration). NOTE: I encourage you to join me, I would love to see as many people participating as possible!
  • Think of 52 “weekly resolutions”. Do one a week (inspired by the non-profit Because I Said I Would).
  • Work through the BBC’s Top Reads list. Read as many as I can. (Many thanks to my good friend Chamonix for this one!)
  • Get through Pimsleur French 1 (audio series).
  • Cultivate my friendships, turn focus outward.
  • Be true to myself.

Last year was full of experiences, both good and bad. I learned a lot and I feel that I have come out the other side a better person. One influence to my current state of reflection is the people I have met through creativeLIVE.  There are so many people who inspire me to do more and be better, they are always innovating and improving. I ran into an article by a  recent creativeLIVE instructor, Lewis Howes. He posted a list of the top 10 things he learned in 2012, many of which are in line with my goals and feelings about the new year. I am looking forward to what the future holds with enthusiasm.  I want to focus on the good, what I have to be thankful for, and how I can grow even more. I was on the right track last year, so many positive changes in my life. Here’s to more positivity in 2013!

3 responses to “Positive growth in 2013

  1. Thank you for sharing my 52 week New Year’s resolution story on your blog! I thought you might be interested in seeing the video I just released about the story behind “because I said I would” that was filmed on New Year’s Eve.

    I traveled across the city of Cleveland hearing people’s New Year’s resolutions, the first promise of 2013.

    Thanks again for your support!

Leave a Reply

